BEACH MAKEUP: WHAT I WORE IN KEY WEST

If you follow me on Snapchat (kateluvsmakeup) then you know that my husband and I recently traveled to Key West, Florida to celebrate our 3-year wedding anniversary. I thought it would be fun to share all of the makeup products that I wore on the trip (I only wore a fraction of what I packed, oops!)

Beach makeup flat lay

As much as I love makeup, I am not someone who wants to wear a full face of makeup all of the time. So, I ended up not wearing any makeup during the day. At night, my skin was very dry and slightly sunburned after being in the sun all day so I used the Murad Invisiblur Primer for SPF and the  IT Cosmetics CC Cream in Tan to even out my skin tone. I found that this CC Cream gave me the coverage I needed but did not feel too heavy in the heat and humidity. Plus, it has a high SPF (50) which is a must at the beach. I skipped using any setting powder and instead bronzed my skin with the Hourglass Ambient Bronzer in Luminous Bronze Light. Honestly, my skin was so tan and naturally bronzed that this step was completely unnecessary but I just love this bronzer so much.

The only blush that I brought was my limited edition Hourglass Blush Palette (includes shades Luminous Flush, Mood Exposure and Incandescent Electra). I was actually surprised to see that Incandescent Electra and Luminous Flush did not look great on my really tan skin. Have you ever applied a blush color before and just thought it looks super unnatural? These did not show up very well on me so my cheeks looked powdery and the color that did show up looked very unnatural. So, I wore Mood Exposure for the entire trip. FYI – I have been loving Incandescent Electra but I will have to keep in mind that it does not look great on my super tan/slightly sunburned skin. I am not a huge highlighter person but for some reason, when I am tan and on vacation, I am all about that glow! I used the Balm’s Mary Lou-Manizer to highlight my skin.

I found myself not wanting to bother with much eye makeup so I was really happy that I brought my Laura Mercier Caviar Stick in Copper. This is the ONLY eyeshadow that I used on my ENTIRE trip. It is a cream shadow that looks great on it’s own. I lined my eyes with MAC’s Costa Riche, which happens to look great with the Copper caviar stick, and then used Lancome Cils Booster Lash Primer and Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara to get dramatic lashes. This mascara combo CANNOT be beat.

If you’ve been following me for a while now then you know that I am a neutral-lip lover. However, I decided to “spice” it up for this trip. I wore the Clinique Lip Pop in Poppy Pop, which is a bright orange-red shade. It was a little too dramatic at first so I found the perfect way (for me) to wear it was to apply it to my lips and then dab *most* of it off. I then topped my lips with my Dior Lip Glow in Pink. Dabbing most of the product off toned the color down slightly and made it look more like a lip stain than a full-on lipstick. The Dior Lip Glow then added some moisture and gloss back in to the look. I set my makeup with the travel-sized version of the Skindinavia Makeup Finishing Spray (Oil Control version).

What are your must-haves for a low maintenance look at the beach?

2 thoughts on “BEACH MAKEUP: WHAT I WORE IN KEY WEST

  1. harivain says:

    I’m not a big fan of the Better Than Sex…
    Have you tried the Lancome juicy shakers! I swatched them at Sephora the other day and they seem delightful! Seems like a summer must have!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

