WHY I RETURNED THE JACLYN HILL X BECCA COSMETICS CHAMPAGNE COLLECTION EYESHADOW PALETTE

UPDATE: If you follow Jaclyn Hill on Snapchat, she just told her followers that this eyeshadow palette is being dropped from the collection due to it’s poor quality (they were on a time crunch so Becca sent this palette to a different lab than normal to be produced). If you follow me on Snapchat then you know that I had a major rant afterw hearing this news. I am disappointed with Becca Cosmetics for putting out a sub-par product, but what is even MORE upsetting is that I have yet to see a single YouTuber that I loyally follow complain about this palette. In fact, they have all raved about it. It’s sad that this beauty community has turned into an industry full of people lying about the quality of products (that they receive for free) to make money. I hope y’all know that I will ALWAYS give you my honest opinion, no matter what! Ok, rant over. Here is my original blog post before I heard that this palette was being dropped:

Let me start by saying that I LOVE Jaclyn Hill. Her Champagne Collection Face Palette is one of my favorite makeup releases of 2016. However, I was EXTREMELY disappointed with the Jaclyn Hill x Becca Champagne Collection Eyeshadow Palette. Take a look at this photo and you might see one of the reasons why:

Jaclyn Hill x Becca Champagne Collection Eyeshadow Palette and Ombre Rouge Palette

The palette on top is the new Jaclyn Hill eyeshadow palette and the palette on the bottom is the Becca Cosmetics Ombre Rouge palette. Notice any similarities?!?

Let me start by saying that I absolutely love the Ombre Rouge palette. In fact, it is one of my most used eyeshadow palettes. The colors are very wearable and they all work really well together. I find myself wearing this to work all the time because they are not crazy, in-your-face-pigmented. I found the Jaclyn Hill palette to not at all be the same. These colors are dry and not very pigmented.

My other major complaint is that these palettes are almost identical. There was absolutely no way that I could justify keeping the Jaclyn Hill palette when I had an almost identical palette, with more pigmented shadows.  I do not blame this on Jaclyn. If you listen to her Snapchats and YouTube videos, she makes it clear that she was responsible for designing Champagne Toast, the ONE different/unique color in the palette. Becca was responsible for the rest of the palette. I was very disappointed that Becca would choose to fill this palette with colors that were so similar to their LAST palette. I really hate when brands do this – it almost “punishes” their loyal customers. That sounds dramatic, but you know what I mean…

The bottom line is that if you want to try a Becca eyeshadow palette: buy the Ombre Rouge palette. If you want to buy a Jaclyn Hill product: buy the Champagne Collection face palette.

22 thoughts on “WHY I RETURNED THE JACLYN HILL X BECCA COSMETICS CHAMPAGNE COLLECTION EYESHADOW PALETTE

  1. margeburkell says:

    TY for your honest post. I have only heard 4 YouTubers that were brave enough to say the eyeshadow palette is not up to par and only 2 that pointed out that they were made in China and of sub quality. Neither of them were sent the whole collection and bought the items themselves. The other two didn’t rave about the palette but stopped short of calling them inferior, which apparently they are. I am glad Jaclyn admitted it. It keeps her credible. So much for all the others that lied to line their pockets. blech.

    Liked by 2 people

    • katelovesmakeup1 says:

      Props to those YouTubers! I actually just watched a video where one YouTuber said it was the “most pigmented palette she has ever used” LOL. I love Jaclyn Hill – props to her on this! It’s costing her $$ and adding drama to her life but it’ll be better for her in the end!

      Like

    • Makeup Addict says:

      I think part of the issue is that there were multiple packages. I have heard that the YTers that got free product were sent the better quality palettes. I personally bought one and I had mixed feelings. I felt that two of the shadows were very good – the cognac color and the deepest brown. The mauve didn’t show up well on me, but I blamed that on it being too close to my skin tone. The shimmers showed up fine, but I didn’t care for the grittiness. I felt that the vibe of the looks I could do were similar to the Makeup Geek Manny MUA palette, so I returned it. I just couldn’t justify $40 for 5 shadows (of which I only loved 2) when I recently spent $40 for 9 eyeshadows (which are similar) in the MannyMua palette – all of them great quality.

      Liked by 1 person

      • katelovesmakeup1 says:

        Ooh, if that is the case that means Becca definitely knew about the quality issues beforehand. That would be very disappointing. That’s funny – the mauve one didn’t show up at all on me and I assumed it was because of my skintone too. The Champagne Toast color showed up but I REALLY hard to build it up. Makeup Geek shadows are so good!

        Like

      • tawana says:

        @katelovesmakeup why don’t you start your own YouTube channel and do videos for your self and ppl like me who need to hear the truth

        Liked by 1 person

      • katelovesmakeup1 says:

        I want to really badly – especially since I have started using Snapchat – it’s been so fun talking and sharing my personality. Just scared to start a channel but I really considering it!

        Like

  2. itsheyjune says:

    I had no idea about the similar palettes! That’s so upsetting. I also have been reading several blog posts about the eye shadow palette and a lot of them said it wasn’t good at all, so I was wondering why there wasn’t any complaints on YouTube. Great post, I would have never realised they basically re used a palette.

    Liked by 1 person

    • katelovesmakeup1 says:

      I feel like bloggers are sometimes able to be more obvious because they don’t get as many haters as YouTubers?! (just my experience so far). Everyone is talking about the quality issues but no one is bringing up the fact that it’s almost identical in color/shade selection to their last palette!

      Liked by 1 person

      • itsheyjune says:

        Yeah, yours was the first post that even mentioned that. I wouldn’t have known because I don’t really know much about Becca products to begin with

        Like

  3. Francesca says:

    I’ve just been watching her snapchat. I havent even tried the palette yet but I will today. Can I return it if it’s been used? I don’t often buy from Sephora coz I’m in the UK.

    So disappointed to hear this about the becca products. I don’t have any other eyeshadow palettes of theirs to compare so I’ll probably compare to Makeup Geek or MAC.

    Thanks for this update x

    Liked by 1 person

    • katelovesmakeup1 says:

      I think my friend that lives in the UK (@foodishbeauty) told me that you can’t return makeup in the UK?! Not sure though! I really like the Ombre Rouge palette if you decide you want to try a different Becca palette!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Francesca says:

        Yeah usually we can’t return any makeup products but I thought returning products was a Sephora thing? I’ll have to look into it. x

        Like

  4. contemplatingstyle says:

    Thank you for your honest post, it does seem to be more and more difficult to know which bloggers to trust. I’ve been using blogs to check out products I was interested in because I (of course) didn’t trust the advertising, but more and more bloggers are becoming as fake as the mascara adds with the false eyelashes. It’s sad, but it’s nice to know that there are still some of us who are being honest in our reviews 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

