PRODUCT REGRET: BENEFIT CHEEKATHON PALETTE

Y’all, I am so sad to write this post. I was SO excited to purchase the Benefit Cheekathon Palette. The Benefit Hoola bronzer has been my favorite bronzer since high school but I have never tried any of the Benefit boxed blushes. I honestly have no idea why – they are very popular and the packaging is adorable. So, when I saw this palette I knew it would be an amazing and cost-effective way to try a lot of the Benefit blushes.

Benefit Cheekathon Palette

My first impression of this palette was that the packaging could NOT be cuter. I took a ton of photos for my blog and Instagram and was trying to figure out how to display it on my vanity. The packaging is a little bulky and heavy, but I expected that from Benefit, and I honestly do not mind.

Benefit Cheekathon Palette

I started by trying the blush Dallas which looked absolutely gorgeous in the pan. I was surprised that it wasn’t very pigmented. I am someone who likes a lot of blush so I really had to build this up (4+ applications) to get even close to the coverage I was looking for. Once I built it up, the color was gorgeous, but I was disappointed in how long it took me to see some color.

The next day, I tried the blush Coralista thinking it would be perfect for the Spring. This blush did not show up on me at all. I then tried Rockateur – but it just deposited glitter on my cheeks (which in my opinion is even worse than not being pigmented). My friend told me that this is just a glitter overlay but I absolutely HATE when brands do that. Why on Earth would you do that?! Now I have to either have glitter on my face for weeks, or scrape off the glitter overlay just to get to the actual product. Since I had not had luck with the other shades – I thought I might as well try Dandelion next. I could tell just by looking at it that it was not going to be my type of color – and this one did not show up on my skin either.

Benefit Cheekathon Palette

I am so disappointed. The interesting thing is that I have reached out to a few friends that have this palette (who have a lighter skin-tone than me) and they all LOVE it. In fact, I just checked the Sephora website and this product currently has 103 5-star reviews.  The packaging is adorable, there is a very nice array of colors, and it is a great value (it costs $58 and is valued at $145). However, if you are like me and have a deeper skin-tone, enjoy a very pigmented blush, and already have a pretty great blush collection – I would pass on this palette.

Disclaimer: I have received feedback from a lot of fellow makeup lovers that has made me wonder if I received a “dud” product. I am actually considering purchasing another palette to see if there was something wrong with the first one that I bought.

14 thoughts on “PRODUCT REGRET: BENEFIT CHEEKATHON PALETTE

  1. missviggity says:

    While I don’t own this, I do own the individual boxes. Dandelion is suuuuper light, so it works on my nc15 ski, but it’s a very light wash on me also. The rest are pigmented enough for me. Nirvana, which they might not even make anymore, I’m not sure, is my favorite. They’re just enough color to give a nice natural blush but if you love super pigmented intense blush maybe Benefit isn’t the right blush brand for you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sonneillon says:

    I own Rockateur and I love it on my skin. I’m about an NW15-NW20. Doesn’t look like a glitter ball on my skin – just glowy. This is so sad to hear that the palette was a bit crap 😦 It hasn’t launched in my country yet but I’d love to get my hands on it because it’s such a great deal but now I’m wondering if it’ll be worth it… Hmm.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gottfriedgrau says:

    Kate, I may be the only other person on the planet who returned this palette after trying it. I was put off by the perfumey smell of the powders. I hated it! My single box’os, like Hoola, don’t smell like anything! wth?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tracys Way says:

    I second this as I purchased and returned as well. It just wasn’t up to par like their singles. I actually had a rep tell me that the shades from one of their palettes were slightly off from the individual boxes. You are not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

