APRIL 2016 SEPHORA PLAY BOX – FIRST IMPRESSIONS AND REVIEW

 

Sephora Play Box

Sephora Play Box

I just got an alert that my May 2016 Sephora Play Box has shipped and will arrive soon so I decided I REALLY needed to get my blog post up about the April 2016 Sephora Play Box. I obviously received it a few weeks ago so I’ve had a chance to use some of the products. Keep reading to see my first impressions and/or review of each product!

Sephora Collection Colorful Cheek Ink Blush Gel in Peony – I am seriously in love with this product. Props to Sephora for having some great products that do not get enough love and attention. I’ve never tried a gel blush but I am in love with this one. The color is fun yet natural and it stays on my cheeks all day. I also like to use this product as a base for my powder blushes.

Sunday Riley Good Genes – I was really excited to receive this product because I have heard so many great things about it in the beauty community. Unfortunately, I have not been able to try this product yet. I’ve received a lot of skincare PR recently and don’t want to throw another new product into the mix.  However, I am very happy that Sephora included a sample of a very popular product in their box.

Derek Lam 10 Crosby 2AM Kiss – Another perfume sample. Meh.

Milk Makeup Sunshine OilI have not used this product and I have a feeling that this sample will sit in my collection for a long time. I think this is partially due to the fact that I am confused as to the best way to use this product. I’ve read that this can be used on your face, your body or your hair. In a weird way, the fact that this product can be used so many different ways almost makes me not want to use it. Also, the full size of this product looks to be ridiculously over-priced.

Nars Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien – if you follow me on Snapchat (kateluvsmakeup) then you saw me lose my &$*@ over this. THIS is a perfect example of how Sephora is completely missing the mark on their subscription box. This lip pencil was last year’s birthday gift for all VIB and VIB Rouge members. It is safe to say that a lot of us that are subscribed to the Sephora Play Box are VIB or VIB Rouge members. So, most of us probably already have this exact sample. Why on Earth would they include it in this box?! At least change up the color! However, I will admit that I do really like this lip product and the color is very wearable.

Clinique Pep-Start Eye Cream – My favorite eye cream is by Clinique (All About Eyes Rich) so I am very intrigued to try this.

Overall, I feel neutral about this box (as I have felt about the last few boxes). I was really happy to see the Sephora Gel Blush and the Sunday Riley Good Genes but VERY frustrated to receive another Nars Lip Pencil in Rikugien. I really wish that Sephora would stop including past birthday gifts, 100 point perks, common samples, etc in their boxes. If they did, this would be an amazing subscription service. What did you think of this month’s Sephora Play Box?

 

7 thoughts on “APRIL 2016 SEPHORA PLAY BOX – FIRST IMPRESSIONS AND REVIEW

Leave a Reply

