Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous Foundation

REVIEW: LAURA MERCIER CANDLEGLOW SOFT LUMINOUS FOUNDATION

For most of the year, my skin type is incredibly oily. I also have acne scars and red spots. So, every foundation in my collection is full coverage with a matte or satin-matte finish. However, ever since I turned 30 my skin has started to get a little less oily and a little more “combination” oily – ESPECIALLY in the Winter. I’m still oily, just with dry patches now included. So, when Laura Mercier offered to send me their Candleglow Soft Luminous Foundation I was super excited to give it a try.

Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous Foundation

I did research on the Sephora website and saw that this foundation is described as a “sheer to medium” foundation that “creates a soft, candlelit glow on the skin”. Honestly, my first impression was that I was either going to LOVE this foundation because it will be SO different from everything else in my collection or I am absolutely going to hate it. For this reason, I decided to test this foundation out on a Saturday when I had no plans to leave the house.

I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I wore this foundation on Saturday. I applied this foundation over my Make Up For Ever Step 1 Mattifying Primer (just to be safe) and used my trusty Sigma F80 Brush. This foundation was really easy to blend it out. It did a great job of evening out my skin tone and covering most of my problem areas without looking cakey at all. The redness around my nose did show through a little so I tried to build up the coverage, but with two layers I would still consider the coverage to be medium. For purposes of testing out the product, I did not apply any powder or setting spray on top. I asked my husband his opinion and he said “it covered all your red spots” and “it doesn’t look like you are wearing any makeup”. So there you have it folks!! I wore this product for 3 hours and absolutely loved it. Now to test it out in the “real world”…

I wore this foundation to work this past week over my Make Up For Ever Step 1 Mattifying Primer and set it with my Laura Mercier Translucent Powder. I then applied my normal full face of makeup (bronzer + blush). I will say – my skin looked gorgeous each morning. My blush and bronzer looked beautiful on top of this foundation. However, due to the fact that I live in Texas and it is already hot and muggy, I was REALLY worried about how this foundation was going to hold up on my skin. This product never looked bad on my skin. However, I definitely had a glow going on all day and I’m not sure that is my favorite finish for my particular skin.

This is where my review is going to get confusing. I personally wish that this foundation provided a little more coverage and was a little less luminous. Now, let’s push those thoughts aside because the WHOLE POINT of this foundation is that it is luminous and lighter coverage. I think that I will absolutely love this foundation in the winter when it’s not so hot and my skin is more dry. However, I don’t think that this will become my every day work foundation.

 

Laura Mercier Candleglow Soft Luminous Foundation

PROS: Shade selection (There are 24 shades to choose from and they range from very light to very dark – I tried two shades: Buff and Honey and they both matched me perfectly), packaging is super sleek and luxurious feeling and I love that it has a pump.

CONS: Cost ($48 for 1 oz), packaging is also a con because it is glass and breakable (not very travel friendly).

BOTTOM LINE: I think that if you like light to medium coverage and a natural luminous finish you will REALLY enjoy this foundation. I did really like the way the lighter coverage felt on my skin and how the foundation looked once I first applied it. However, Texas is way too hot right now and my skin is way too oily for this foundation to work for me on a daily basis. I am going to save this foundation for the Winter time when I think I will absolutely love it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

