Clinique Lip Pop in Bare Pop

REVIEW: CLINIQUE POP LIP COLOUR + PRIMER

Hi y’all! I picked up my first Clinique Pop Lip Colour + Primer a couple of weeks ago in the shade Bare. I was looking for something that I could wear to work and it was described on the Sephora website as “a low shimmer mid-tone nude”. I did a lot of research online (Google image searches, makeup blogs, and Instagram pictures) to narrow down which color I wanted and through all my research it was obvious that Bare was the type of shade I was looking for.

Clinique Lip Pop

PROS: This lipstick is very hydrating, applies smoothly and provides sheer to medium coverage. This is NOT your typical super-pigmented matte lipstick. If that is what you are looking for – stop reading right now – you will NOT enjoy this lipstick. The color I chose, Bare, is the PERFECT “your lips but better” color. For me, this lipstick is kept in my purse at all times. This is for a few reasons:

  • The top of this product can be used as a mirror to use when applying your lipstick. I’m not sure if this was intentional or not, but it is awesome!
  • As the formula is not super full coverage, it is easy to apply and not have obvious mistakes. It also fades more naturally than something that is super pigmented.
  • It feels very hydrating so it is a great formula to wear daily.

CONS: I would not consider this lipstick to be long wearing at all. It will come off on your coffee mug in the morning and definitely won’t last all day. This is probably another reason that I keep mine in my purse at all times. I personally don’t mind having to reapply lipstick IF the lipstick fades/wears off nicely (which this one does). Plus, I would rather a non-drying formula that I have to reapply than a lipstick that doesn’t budge but dries my lips out.

Clinique Lip Pop in Bare Pop

Bottom Line: If you are looking for a lip product to keep in your purse and wear on a daily basis – I would HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend Bare Pop by Clinique. The shade is gorgeous for every day wear, it is very work appropriate and goes with almost any makeup look. Plus, these are only $18.  If you want something full coverage and matte, I would pass on this.

Clinique Lip Pop in Bare Pop

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: CLINIQUE POP LIP COLOUR + PRIMER

  1. claudiamariefit says:

    Aloha Kate,

    I really enjoyed reading your post. Especially because I love Clinique products. I always had good experiences with their products. Such a nice blog you have. I always love to check out different blogs and getting inspired 🙂

    Thank you for sharing !

    I love that we seem to like the same things.

    I just recently started my blog where I will write about my 60lbs weight loss journey (I like to call it my journey to healthy, strong and confident ;-)), beauty, fitness, different places around the world and different types of cuisines. I hope you can find some motivation and inspiration as well on my blog 🙂

    I just published an article on my go to make up look (video) using my favorite products.

    Check it out and follow me if you are interested:-)

    https://claudiamariefit.com/2016/04/14/my-go-to-make-up-look-video-using-my-favorite-products/

    I would love to hear from you on my blog and for you to be part of my journey:-)

    Have a lovely day!

    Aloha from Hawaii

    Like

Leave a Reply

