WHY I STARTED MY INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT

One of my Instagram followers suggested that I write a blog post on “How To Grow Your Instagram Account”. I LOVE that idea. I love it so much that I am going to write three blog posts about this. I decided that I would start by giving you a little bit of a backstory of why I started my Instagram account/blog and then answer the questions I get most frequently asked (“What do you use to take your photos?”, “What do you use to edit your photos?” etc.). Then, my final blog post will focus on how to grow your Instagram account and blog.

IMG_0495

Last year, my husband’s job basically relocated him to Dallas, Texas. He still comes home to Austin most weekends, but he is always gone during the week. I found myself incredibly bored and lonely. One of the things that lifted my spirits was when I would text back and forth with my friend Lisa about different makeup products we had just bought or tried. Lisa and I met when she did my makeup for my wedding and she has her own YouTube account, beauty website, and Instagram account. I thought that it would be so fun to start a beauty blog, but I thought that because I wasn’t a professional makeup artist like she was, no one would be interested in what I had to say about makeup.

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 5.06.02 PM

So, yall may not know this but my first blog was actually a travel blog. I love photography, traveling and “researching” for trips so I started a travel blog called love, marriage, travel. I still love that blog; but the only problem with a travel blog is that you have to continue to travel in order to continue to have content to post. And travel is expensive! After that sort of fizzled out, I still found myself “longing” to talk to fellow beauty junkies about makeup. So, I decided to start an Instagram account focused on makeup and beauty.

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 5.06.51 PM

I am so happy that I made that decision, I have loved every second of it. I love buying new products, trying new products, photographing and editing my pictures, interacting with fellow Instagrammers about beauty and makeup, etc. It has been surprising to me that even though I am not a professional makeup artist, people are still interested in hearing my opinion about different makeup products.

I will be posting my Instagram FAQ blog post shortly, so stay tuned!!

Leave a Reply

