REVIEW: LIP KIT BY KYLIE (KOKO K)

Let me preface this with the fact that I am a Kardashian fan (I have probably watched every episode of Keeping up with the Kardashians) and although I’m not quite sure how they have managed to stay relevant, I am fascinated by them. Not to mention the fact that all of them have flawless makeup.

IMG_9294

One other thing I should mention is that I do not really like liquid lipstick. I like the concept of long wearing lipstick but I’m not a huge fan of matte lipstick on my lips. It somehow always manages to make my lips look dry, crackly and old. So, if you are interested in how the Kylie Lip Kit compares to the Anastasia liquid lipstick, the Ofra liquid lipstick, the Colourpop liquid lipstick, etc – you probably won’t enjoy this blog post.

IMG_9297

When I first heard that Kylie Jenner was coming out with her own liquid lipstick I thought there was no way I was going to buy it. I figured it was going to be one of those mediocre products that sells like crazy just because of the name that’s on it. I’ve seen the Kardashian clothing line at Sears (ew) and the Kardashian beauty line at Ulta and I’ve had zero interest in purchasing any of that. However, after these lip kits were launched the feedback from the beauty community was actually really good. I also read an interview with Kylie where she talked about the “Kylie lips” craze and how the day she publicly mentioned the name of the MAC lip liner and lipstick she always uses to get her signature lips – those products immediately sold out. She said that she figured if that was going to happen why not create her own and be able to profit from it. I liked that she was so blunt about it.

IMG_9298

OK now to talk about the product itself (and the packaging). The packaging, from the box it arrived in to the box that holds the liquid lipstick and lip pencil, is ON POINT. I can’t think of a single other makeup product where I have been so impressed with the overall packaging. There is even a holographic grill on the little box that holds the lip liner and the liquid lipstick. Also, let’s just mention the fact that I can’t think of another cosmetic company that sells a lip KIT where they package the liquid lipstick and corresponding lip liner together. I think that’s brilliant. I hope that eventually she sells them separately for people who don’t want both but I’m so impressed by the fact that she thought of that idea.

IMG_9301

The biggest negative for me was the price. The kit cost $29.95 plus $8.95 shipping. Since I only bought one item – the cost of the kit was pushing $40, which was definitely more than I wanted to spend. However, it was early in the morning and my adrenaline was pumping (fellow beauty junkies, I’m sure you know that feeling) so I clicked the purchase button without giving the total cost a second thought. (I’m glad I did it because this shade sold out in seconds).

IMG_9300

For me, the shade range is perfect. I can’t imagine anyone looking at the collection and not finding at least one shade they wanted to try. I settled on the shade Koko K after I saw Jaclyn Hill’s snapchat. For those of you that don’t know what I am talking about – she reviewed each shade (she gave some shades a negative review) but said that the shade Koko K was the best liquid lipstick she had ever worn. Ever. Koko K is not one that I normally would have gravitated to because it is a little light for my olive skin tone. I was worried it was going to be  Dose of Colors – Stone all over again. However, once I tried it on – I was pleasantly surprised. Not only did it not make me look dead – the color was actually flattering.

IMG_9302

I don’t have many other liquid lipsticks to compare it to (in fact, I only have one other liquid lipstick in my collection). However, I can say that it was definitely comfortable on the lips and lasted a long time. I’ve heard that there is some inconsistency in the formula across the collection but I would definitely recommend the Koko K Lip Kit!

 

Kylie changed her company/website name to Kylie Cosmetics so I cannot wait to see what products she comes out with next.

IMG_9299

One thought on “REVIEW: LIP KIT BY KYLIE (KOKO K)

Leave a Reply

