WHY I AM DOWNSIZING MY MAKEUP COLLECTION

I love makeup. When my alarm goes off each morning before work my first thought is “NOOOO”, my second thought is “…. but yay, I get to play with my makeup”.  This past year, I have spent an insane amount of money on buying new makeup. Prior to this year, I used to be able to fit my entire makeup collection in one of those cute Caboodle’s that you can buy at Ulta. I had one foundation, one bronzer, one mascara, zero eyeshadow palettes (only a few single MAC eyeshadows) and I would only purchase more makeup when I finished a makeup product. It’s funny to think that I used to be so sad when I hit pan on a product, whereas now I get frustrated that I can’t hit pan on a single product. You would think my very large makeup collection would make me happy but to be honest I miss the days when I had a smaller makeup collection full of products that I absolutely loved.

I realized I had a problem when I found myself FORCING myself to use makeup products in my collection. I have so many products that I absolutely love to wear – so why on Earth do I have products in my collection that I have to force myself to use?!

The second thing I have realized is that I need to stop buying drugstore makeup. Now don’t get me wrong there are some really great products that you can find at the drugstore, some of which are even complete dupes for higher end products. However, I found that I was reaching for my higher-end products over the drugstore products. This is partially due to the fact that I enjoy higher-end products. They are usually prettier, have nicer packaging, and USUALLY are better products. The other thing is that when you have a large make up collection, you feel like you need to focus on using up the more expensive products because they cost more money and therefore if they expired you would “lose” more money than you would if a drugstore product expired. If my $60 Dior foundation expires, I will be PISSED. If my $1 ELF product expires – who cares?!

So, I recently went through my makeup collection and pulled out any product that doesn’t make me happy when I use it. I am selling these products on Poshmark and I plan to use that money on future makeup purposes. (Because let’s remember, not only do I love makeup – I also have a makeup blog and Instagram account to maintain).

In the future, I’m going to be a lot smarter about my purchases. For example, Estée Lauder Double Wear has been my holy grail foundation for 10 years. I have tried so many other foundations and I don’t like a single one of them as much. So, I don’t really need to purchase EVERY new foundation that a YouTuber or beauty blogger raves about. I’m also going to get better about returning makeup products that I don’t enjoy. I actually didn’t realize until recently that you can return make up products to Sephora.

Now, I look at what is left of my make up collection, which is still large and excessive for one person, and I find that every single product makes me happy. I guess in this case, less is more 🙂

PS: Let me know if you’d be interested in a follow-up post that includes which items from my collection that I got rid of!

8 thoughts on “WHY I AM DOWNSIZING MY MAKEUP COLLECTION

  1. Penny says:

    I would love more information and details on your decluttering. I feel exactly like you do and I find myself buying products because youtubers recommend them. I need to have your attitude and maybe I’d have a little more money at the end of the month. Thanks for this article.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. lipsticksanddreams says:

    I can totally relate to everything you wrote haha! I have so much makeup and I still use mainly the most expensive items and just keep throwing out expired stuff… I generally don’t buy drugstore products anymore for the same reason as you – I just don’t reach for them often. Ok, except my rimmel concealer and bourjois powder 😁😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. contemplatingstyle says:

    Great decision! I’m also trying to be a “makeup minimalist” (even though my parents would disagree, but less than 10 makeup palettes does qualify as minimalism in the beauty community xD ) and I feel like I enjoy my makeup more that way 🙂
    Also, an ocassional makeup haul is much sweeter when it doesn’t happen every two days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

