REVIEW: YSL NEUTRALIZER & INFLUENSTER

A few months ago, I saw a lot of my fellow Instagrammers posting about free products they received from Influenster. I signed up and spent a bunch of time reviewing products, taking quizzes, etc. Supposedly, the more active you are on the site – the more of a chance you have to receive free products to review.

Months went by and I didn’t receive anything so I basically gave up on the website. Then, I randomly received an email with a quiz asking for my thoughts on color correcting concealers and asking for my mailing address. It didn’t say anything about a particular brand or product but it was pretty clear that the product I might be receiving would be a color correcting concealer. When I received my box in the mail and saw the YSL logo on top – I literally squealed with delight.

IMG_3755

The product I received was the Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat Neutralizer in green that retails for $38. I received a FULL SIZE version of this product!! I immediately went on to Sephora to read the reviews and they were all amazing (however, most of them mentioned that they received the product for free from Influenster so I wasn’t sure if that was skewing the results – it is hard to complain about a product when you receive it for free).

IMG_8726

Also, I am assuming that I received the green color because in the quiz I answered that my major skin concern is redness. My skin has been acting up like crazy so I was really excited to try this product. I’ve never used any of the YSL concealers so I am assuming the packaging is the same. For those of you that haven’t used them either, they are pretty cool. It is almost like a pen with a “clicky” button at the bottom that you press to get the product to come out. The applicator is very similar to the MAC brightener that I own.

IMG_8727

I would definitely recommend purchasing this product. It did a great job of correcting my redness and was super easy to blend out. The only other product that I have for color correcting is Bye Bye Redness from IT Cosmetics so I thought it might be helpful to compare the two.

Bye Bye Redness is VERY thick. Not only does it conceal any redness on your skin it provides coverage similar to a very full coverage foundation. It is also the color of foundation and can be worn alone. The YSL Neutralizer is very different. It is a thinner, more liquid consistency and is green. When you blend the product out it doesn’t remain green but I probably wouldn’t wear this on it’s own. However, I liked that it didn’t add any coverage and really just neutralized my skin and provided a great base for me to apply my foundation.

IMG_8728

BOTTOM LINE: Sign up for Influenster! Just don’t get your hopes up that you will receive anything immediately. I have no idea how they choose who to send the products to, and I have no idea if I will receive any other free products. However, receiving this one YSL product was worth the time I spent signing up and reviewing products on their website. I would also highly recommend this product if you have redness in your skin that you would like to conceal. Plus the packaging is sleek and fancy looking and would be great for travel.

 

Leave a Reply

