BEST OF BEAUTY 2015

Ok, as y’all know – I love sharing my favorite beauty products so I’m sorry if this post feels a little repetitive. However, 2015 was a year full of spending money on makeup. I’ve always loved makeup but in the past I was the type of person that owned one foundation at a time, one powder at a time, etc. Once I got into watching YouTube videos I started buying products like crazy. Then when I started my blog and Instagram page – I went even crazier. The one good thing about this is that I have been able to compare a TON of products and figure out which ones are my favorites.

IMG_8227

I debated whether I should go through each category (primer, foundation, etc.) or just talk about the stand out products of the year. I decided to just talk about the stand out products of the year because I already have other posts about my favorite products (November FavoritesFavorite ProductsFavorite Products Pt. 2October Favorites). I hope you enjoy!

IMG_8275

Estee Lauder Doublewear: The ironic thing about this being my favorite for 2015 is that I have been using this foundation for years. I purchased over 10 other foundations this year and couldn’t find a single one that I love as much. This foundation is holy grail status for me and will always be in my collection.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness: Wow. This product is so good at covering up redness. I love the consistency too. It is super full coverage so a little goes a long way.

Laura Mercier Translucent Powder and Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder: I had never used a loose powder until this year. These powders are SO gorgeous.

Becca Cosmetics Under Eye Brightener: I didn’t think I had dark under eyes until I used this product. OMG my under eyes are SO bright whenever I use this, it makes me look wide awake.

Urban Decay Naked Concealer: I’ve talked about this over and over. This is a great product.

IMG_8267

Benefit Hoola Bronzer: This is another one that is ironic that it is a favorite of mine for 2015. My friends and I used this product all throughout high school. During college, I switched to using Nars Laguna because I felt that I was now an adult and the Hoola packaging was much too young for me (and the Nars packaging was of course super sleek). I purchased a ton of bronzers this year (see my Battle of the Bronzers post here) and found that this bronzer was still my favorite. It’s great for contouring and bronzing up your face and is very natural looking while still being pigmented. The packaging is cute but I definitely wish it was in a compact and looked a little nicer.

Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow Palette (the highlighter): So, it is officially winter, I am officially at my palest and the bronzer is still too light for me. However, this highlighter is freaking amazing. I feel like this was the year of highlighters and I purchased and enjoyed a ton of highlighters. However, I realized within the past few weeks that I don’t actually like highlighters (LOL). They just look super un-natural on me. Same with using a highlight shade under your eyebrows – I hate it. However, this highlighter is different. It looks natural (as natural as a highlighter can) and adds a brightness to my face that I just love.

IMG_8269

Clinique Cheek Pop in Cola Pop: When Clinique released their cheek pop blushes – I died. Are these not the cutest little things you have ever seen?! This shade is so up my alley. It is absolutely gorgeous and unlike any of the other blushes that I own.

MAC Warm Soul: I am super late to the game with this one. I heard a ton about this blush but when I looked at it – it just looked “blah”. Plus, I didn’t think I liked peachy blushes. After a ton of people recommended this to me on Instagram I went ahead and purchased it. I swatched it on my hand and was super disappointed. I put it on my cheeks and it was magic. This blush is absolutely gorgeous. The flush it gives you is both beautiful and natural looking. This blush should seriously be in EVERYONE’S collection.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Exposed and Bobbi Brown Slopes: After falling in love with Warm Soul, it made me realize that maybe I didn’t need to buy the blushes that look super pink or super red. So, I purchased these two blushes that look a little boring in the pan. This type of blush has now become my go-to look. Each of these are gorgeous and natural looking on the cheeks with great staying powder.

IMG_8263

MAC 24 Hour Extend Eye Base: This is hands down the best eye primer I have ever used in my life. My eyeshadow stays put ALL DAY LONG.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara: This mascara is a great price and provides both length and volume for me. I also really enjoy the wand.

IMG_8265

Makeup Geek Eyeshadows: When these products first came out I thought everyone was over-hyping them since they were YouTubers and friends with Marlena (owner of Makeup Geek and fellow YouTuber). I hesitantly purchased a few and had to admit – these were pretty great. When she came out with her foiled shadows – holy #*@* I have never felt an eyeshadow so creamy. However, the only thing I will say is that I STILL love MAC eyeshadows. I hate how everyone always mentions Makeup Geek while saying “these are so much better than MAC, and cheaper). I still think MAC eyeshadows are amazing and they have some of my favorite single eyeshadow colors. Anyways, I digress…

Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette and Too Faced Semi Sweet Palette: The packaging. The smell. The color choices. Amazing. I actually prefer the semi sweet palette over the original.

Becca Ombre Rouge Eyeshadow Palette: I love this palette so much. I actually won this palette from an Instagram giveaway and I am so happy that I did. It’s one of the few palettes I own that I use and love every shade in the palette. They go so well together and are completely my type of colors. I recommended this palette to my friend Lisa and she thought it wasn’t very pigmented. After she said that I realized it’s NOT that pigmented and I actually think that is one of the things I like about it (weird?). Or at least it is one of the reasons I wear it so often. I find that it is a great palette for a natural everyday eyeshadow look that I can wear to work. I’m still not great at doing my eyeshadow so some of the more pigmented shadows are a little scary because they are so easy to make a mistake with.

IMG_8261

IMG_8276

Pixi Mattelustre Lipstick in Honey Bare: See my blog post highlighting this great everyday lipstick here.

MAC Lipsticks: I had a ton of depotted MAC eyeshadows that I turned in for a couple of MAC lipsticks and it started an obsession. I just swatched my favorites to try to narrow it down to one or two but I couldn’t. Partially because they look super similar and partially because I love them all. My favorites from my collection are Taupe, Brave, Mehr, Faux and Creme in Your Coffee.

Too Faced Melted Lipstick in Melted Chihuahua: I love the formula, the applicator, and the color. This has been my go to lip product since I purchased it. Plus, the name is just weird and I love it.

Tom Ford Lipstick in So Vain: I love this lipstick. It is one of the most expensive products that I own and feels the most luxurious. I also really love the color. When I first bought this the texture was a little gritty (which I was not a fan of) but now that I have worn through the top layer it is a lot smoother.

IMG_8262

Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray: Amazing. I can definitely tell a difference in the lasting power of my makeup when I use this spray.

Mac Fix Plus: I hesitated buying this product for the longest time because I didn’t know what it was used for. I heard a few people mention that they used it with their eyeshadows and that just didn’t appeal to me. However, I started using this after I have finished my makeup to make everything look less powdery and I LOVE it. I use super full coverage foundation so there are times that I end up getting a little cakey around my nose and this product definitely helps.

Eek this was really hard. There a ton of products that I was considering including but didn’t (Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer, the color Prim from the Tarte Holiday Blush Palette, Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara, etc.). There are also a bunch of products I got for Christmas that I am super excited about but haven’t had enough time to use (IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Pressed Powder and Tartelette in Bloom Palette). As always, I will keep y’all updated with any new favorites that come along in 2016.

What were your favorite makeup products of 2015?

IMG_8228

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “BEST OF BEAUTY 2015

  1. The Beauty Official says:

    Love this post! The Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Exposed is also one of my favourites! The product I loved the most in 2015 was definitely the Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade! Have you tried it yet?

    Like

  2. sonneillon says:

    Recently bought Fix +. I had read and heard people talk about how amazing it was but I was convinced that it was glorified water and my skin was oily enough that it didn’t need some glycerine spray. Anyway, long story short, I had a shopping day with my friend and she gave me all the nudging I ever needed. I ended up buying it and oh my gosh, I love it! It really does wonders for me!

    By the way, what pump do you use for your Double Wear?

    Liked by 1 person

    • katelovesmakeup1 says:

      I thought the same thing at first but it really does a great job of making my foundation not look so powdery and cakey!! It’s now going to be in my collection for FOREVER! I use the MAC Foundation Pump – it fits perfectly in the Estee Lauder Double Wear if you just trim the end of it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

