2015: BEST SKINCARE PRODUCTS

IMG_7713

I hesitated writing a skin-care blog post because I feel like skin-care is so personal – what works for me, may not work for anyone else. However, I have spent a lot of time and money trying out a lot of different products and I have been loving this combination of products. I have oily, acne-prone skin (so not fun).

CLEANSE: 

IMG_7722

Murad Clarifying Cleanser ($28 for 6.75 oz) – I use this product daily to wash my face. It is a fairly strong acne treatment and is good for controlling oil and blemishes. I love this entire anti-acne line by Murad. The only con is that it can dry out your skin.

IMG_7719

Philosophy Purity Made Simple ($24 for 8 oz) – I’m not sure how, but this product is both gentle and effective. I use this when my skin is feeling a little too dried out to use my Murad cleanser. This cleanser will leave your skin feeling completely clean but not dried out at all. This would be great if you didn’t think your skin needed a super-maximum strength cleanser, or if you are like me and you use a bunch of drying anti-acne products as part of your skin-care routine. Another great cleanser that is gentle and effective is the Fresh Soy Face Cleanser.

IMG_7721

Murad Pore Reform Skin Smoothing Polish ($30 for 3.5 oz) – This product is a great exfoliator and really helps with congested pores. I leave this in the shower and try to use it 2-3 times a week.

 

 

 

TONE: 

IMG_7723

Mario Badescu Glycolic Acid Toner ($18 for 8 oz) – This is the first product I ever tried from the Mario Badescu line and I completely fell in love. When I use this on a regular basis, I can tell a noticeable difference in my acne scarring and skin discoloration. This bottle lasts forever and the price is right so I can’t imagine ever using a different toner.

 

TREAT:

IMG_7720

Murad Acne Clearing Solution ($42 for 1.7 oz) – This product is expensive but it is effective. Sometimes when I get lazy I will just wash my face and not tone, treat, or moisturize. I can tell a HUGE difference when I DON’T use this product. I really like the feel of this product too, it is lightweight and creamy and doesn’t have any scent to it.

IMG_7715

Mario Badescu Drying Lotion ($17 for 1 oz) – If you have acne and you do not own this product – you need to immediately purchase it. This is probably the MOST effective skincare product I have ever used. To apply: you do not shake the bottle, just dip your q-tip in the pink stuff in the bottom of the bottle and use it as a spot treatment. It will show up pink on your face so this product isn’t something you can wear out in public. I apply this at night and wake up to my problem spots being noticeably smaller. The only con is that it does sting sometimes. You can find this at Ulta in either a plastic bottle or a glass bottle – I would recommend buying the plastic bottle as that one is more travel friendly and once you’ve tried this product you will NEVER want to be without it!

IMG_7714

Sephora Purifying & Mattifying Mud Mask ($19 for 2.03 oz) – This face mask is so good for oily skin and just as good, if not better, than the Glam Glow Mud Mask. I have an entire blog post dedicated to this mask so check it out here.

 

MOISTURIZE:

IMG_7718

Murad Oil-Control Mattifier SPF 15 ($39.50 for 1.7 oz) – I LOVE this moisturizer for applying in the morning just prior to putting on makeup. I get super oily during the day so I feel like this moisturizer is slightly moisturizing while keeping me matte and providing a light SPF. I doubt I will ever stop using this product.

IMG_7716

Mario Badescu Honey Moisturizer ($25 for 2 oz) – I bought this product after seeing Mallory Ervin (love her, she is so adorable) using it on YouTube. I needed a more moisturizing moisturizer to use at night. This product is really good – it’s moisturizing and doesn’t feel greasy. My only cons about this product are that it smells a little strange and I hate the bottle it comes in. Every now and then the product seems to get stuck and then a HUGE amount of product will come out when I squeeze the bottle and I end up wasting product. This is the one step in my skincare line that I have a feeling I will be trying out different products once I use this one up. If you have any recommendations for a good night-time moisturizer for oily skin – let me know!

EYE CREAM:

IMG_7717

Clinique All About Eyes Rich ($32 for 0.5 oz) – I currently don’t have any major issues with my under-eye area so I use my eye cream as more of a preventative measure. This eye cream is supposed to help with dark circles and puffiness. My favorite thing about this product is that it is lightweight and absorbs really quickly which is great when I am in a hurry in the morning.

 

IMG_7712

If you have oily, acne prone skin – let me know your favorite skincare products to use! PS Stay tuned for my 2015 Best of Makeup!!

8 thoughts on “2015: BEST SKINCARE PRODUCTS

  1. The Beauty Official says:

    Great post! Although I don’t struggle with acne anymore, when I do get my next breakout, I’ll definitely need to try the Mario Badescu Drying Lotion! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Francesca says:

    I’ve only tried one Murad product, its the AHA/BHA Exfoliating Cleanser (the purple packaging) and I’m close to running out. It’s great for getting those annoying dry skin patches. I’m hoping to branch out and try more but they’re so expensive. Worth the money though x

    Like

Leave a Reply

