HOLIDAY PARTY MAKEUP

Welcome back to Part 2 of my holiday party post. I already posted about my outfit and accessories for my company’s Great Gatsby themed holiday party. This post will be all about the makeup that I wore. I think the makeup that I used would be perfect for any holiday party. I hope you enjoy!

IMG_7677

IMG_7676

PRIMER: The Porefessional Face Primer by Benefit Cosmetics + MAC Cosmetics Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone. I have seriously LOVED this combination after Casey Holmes raved about it on YouTube. This combination smooths out your skin, reduces your pores, and keeps your skin matte. What more could you want?!

 

IMG_7640

FOUNDATION: I wanted my skin to look absolutely flawless so I used my all-time favorite foundation – Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup. For additional coverage, I used IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness Correcting Cream. I think you are supposed to use this under your foundation to minimize redness, but I actually use it over my foundation for areas that I need more coverage.

IMG_7675

SETTING POWDER: Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder

IMG_7674

CONCEALER: I took a break from my beloved Urban Decay Naked Concealer and went back to the heavy duty MAC Pro Longwear Concealer. I really like this concealer for special events, it is very full coverage. To set my concealer, I used the Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder. I experienced a little bit of “whiteness” with flash photography so I would test this product out before you use it for a special event.

 

IMG_7654

BLUSH: I skipped bronzer for this look – which I NEVER do. I wanted my cheeks to really pop and look flushed so I did not use any bronzer and instead used my Clinique Cheek Pop Blush in Cola Pop. This blush is perfect for giving you those rosy cheeks.

 

IMG_7660

 

 

IMG_7656

HIGHLIGHTER: MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft and Gentle. When I took flash photography with this product on it really POPPED. Some of you may like that – but for me I’m not a fan. My forehead tends to get oily so if my highlighter is too intense it just makes my entire face look oily, not glowing. For future special events, I will either not wear highlighter or wear one of my more natural looking ones (like my Charlotte Tilbury highlighter).

IMG_7642

EYE PRODUCTS: The MAC Prep + Prime 24-Hour Extend Eye Base is the best eye primer I have ever used in terms of making your eyeshadow last forever. This is my go-to primer for any special occasion. I went for a smokey eye, so I used the Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Zero (black). This eyeliner is one of my favorite formulas and this color is perfect for when you want a dramatic eye look. I then used one of my favorite mascaras – the Maybelline Lash Sensational to prep my eyes for my fake eyelashes. My fake eyelashes, the Demi Wispies by Adrell aren’t pictured here because let’s be real, it’s hard to get a good picture of eyelashes without it looking like a dead spider.

IMG_7645

EYESHADOW: Another confession, I do not know how to create a smokey eye. I knew I wanted to use the color Satin Taupe by MAC because I thought it would look really good with all of the silver in my accessories. So, I used MAC All That Glitters on in the inner and center parts of my lid, MAC Satin Taupe on the outer part of my lid and the erase, and then I used the Hot Fudge shade of the Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar palette on the outer V area to darken every thing up. I used Corrupt by Makeup Geek over my eyeliner to smoke everything out.

IMG_7644

IMG_7646

 

LIPSTICK: This lip color was the star to the show! I ALWAYS wear very neutral lip colors so this was definitely out of my comfort zone but it really completed my look. It is Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella and I actually got it for free from Sephora as part of my Sephora birthday present. I found the formula to be really long wearing and creamy and the color was perfect!

I don’t know why but I seem to always forget to photograph my setting spray. I sprayed the crap out of my face with my Skindinavia Setting Spray to make sure it lasted all night!

If you decide to use any of the products from this look for your holiday party (or whatever you want to wear them) – be sure to tag me in them so I can see!! @katelovesmakeup1

Leave a Reply

