BLACK FRIDAY HAUL – TARTE COSMETICS/MINI RANT

I am proud of myself for not spending very much money on Black Friday! I only purchased 2 items from the Tarte website. To be honest, I’m a little frustrated by Tarte. All their advertisements (including the one on their website) said “25% Off Your Order”. To me, that means that I will get 25% off my entire order – apparently to Tarte it means I will get 25% off certain items in my order. Sneaky sneaky. However, I’m not AS frustrated anymore because I recently posted two pictures of my Tarte purchases on Instagram and TARTE regrammed them! I think Tarte sharing two of MY photos with their 2.7M followers is worth forgiving a little misunderstanding – right? 🙂

IMG_7749

IMG_7774

Anyways, I originally went to the Tarte website to pick up the new Tartelette palette – Tartelette in Bloom. The packaging is BEAUTIFUL and the colors look like the type I would use all the time. I have been hesitant to purchase this at full price because I own the original Tartelette palette and I NEVER reach for it. It’s not that it’s bad – it’s just not near as good as some of my other palettes (Lorac Pro, Too Faced Chocolate Bar palettes, etc.) and there are A LOT of purple shadows. At 25% off ($34) the Tartelette 2 palette felt like a really good deal.

*Side note: am I the only one who has a hard time determining which eyeshadow palettes are actually good? I feel like every time a new eyeshadow palette comes out – ALL the big YouTubers and Instagrammers post about it at the exact same time, all raving about it. I have to assume it is because they have been sent the item to review and promote. I saw this with the Vegas Nay palette, then the Anastasia Self Made palette and now the Tartelette in Bloom palette. I’m not saying these palettes aren’t great (I haven’t purchased any of them) – I just wish it was easier to see through the BS and figure out which palettes are worth actually spending your own money on. OK. Rant over. Back to the blog.

IMG_7753

Of course, while I’m on the Tarte website I start browsing and add two other items to my cart that haven’t even been on my radar. I saw the Buffer Airbrush Finish Bamboo Foundation Brush which I had seen in a ton of videos. My holy grail foundation brush is the Sigma F80 (I own 2). However, I’ve been using these two brushes everyday to apply my makeup so I figured I could definitely use a third foundation brush.

IMG_7740

Then, I also picked up the Shine Bright Statement Lash Essentials with the GORGEOUS blinged-out eyelash curler. I couldn’t justify $20 for an eyelash curler, but $15 (25% off) felt ok.

IMG_7743

Of course, when I applied the discount code I received a small, very hard to notice, message that said the discount did not apply to the Tarlette 2 palette. I was so annoyed that I removed that item from my cart and swore I wouldn’t spend my own money on it. (Instead, I’m asking for it for Christmas lol). So, my “big” Black Friday haul contains two items that haven’t even been on my wish list/radar. UGH. I am kind of disappointed in myself but I think that I will really enjoy the foundation brush and the eyelash curler will be great to use, fun to display, and add some bling to my Instagram photos.

IMG_7742

What did you pick up on Black Friday?

 

4 thoughts on “BLACK FRIDAY HAUL – TARTE COSMETICS/MINI RANT

  1. Stella says:

    Hey there I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by error,
    while I was looking on Yahoo for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a
    lot for a fantastic post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up
    the excellent jo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

