MAKEUP TIPS & TRICKS

 

Two of my favorite things to do are to watch YouTube makeup videos or chat with my friends Lisa and KK about makeup and beauty products. Because of these two things, I have learned A LOT of helpful makeup tips and tricks. There are a TON of beauty hacks out there if you search online, but these are the ones that I use on a daily  basis.
1. APPLYING LOOSE POWDERS WITH A BEAUTY BLENDER – I have talked about this a lot on my Instagram page. I used to HATE loose powder and couldn’t figure out why anyone would choose it over a pressed powder. It’s so messy and I could never control where it went. I saw someone on YouTube mention that they set their under eyes with a damp beauty blender and loose powder. I use a damp beauty blender to blend out my under eye concealer already so I decided to try using the same beauty blender to set my under eye concealer with my beloved Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder. I couldn’t believe how well it worked. I actually now use a damn beauty blender to set my foundation with a loose powder as well.
2. APPLYING YOUR FOUNDATION FOR FULLER COVERAGE – If you want your foundation to be fuller coverage – stipple it into your skin. I had already been using a foundation stippling brush but I honestly used it more like a paint brush to move the product around my skin and blend it in that way. I saw someone on a YouTube video say that on areas of your face that you want fuller coverage you should really press it into your skin with the brush (over and over) before you blend. I now press the foundation into my skin before blending it out and I am able to achieve  fuller coverage.
3. FILLING IN YOUR EYEBROWS – I recently started going to a brow salon in Austin that specializes in reshaping your eyebrows. My brow stylist is also a licensed makeup artist so she taught me how to fill in my eyebrows. I thought I would share her tips with y’all.
Here are her tips on how to measure where your eyebrows should be:
 – Place a pencil along the side of your nose to determine where your eyebrow should start. My eyebrows don’t extend far enough, so she has me fill mine in using a light hand and a circular motion. I find that this looks VERY natural as the inner part of your eyebrows is naturally a little “messier” than the rest of your eyebrow.
-Take a pencil and line it up from the outer part of your nose, to the outside edge of your eyeball – this is where the arch should be.
-To find out where your brow should end, angle a pencil from the outside of your nose to the outer corner of your eye.
-To fill in your eyebrows – start by drawing a line on top and bottom along the outer areas of your brows (essentially, outline the brow shape that you want to fill in). Then fill in all the gaps with short strokes to mimic little hairs. I wasn’t drawing lines to outline my brows first and this has made a huge difference in making it appear more defined and less messy.
-Make sure your pencil color is not too dark. I was amazed to find out that my brow stylist uses the color taupe on 99% of her clients (she even used it on me and I have DARK brown hair). I still use Soft Brown by Anastasia because it is the color that I am comfortable wearing but odds are, you are probably using a shade that is too dark for you.
4. SETTING YOUR EYEBROWS – Use hairspray and a toothbrush as a cheaper alternative to set your eyebrows in place.
5. APPLYING FALSE LASHES – I am honestly still horrible at applying false lashes, so my friends KK and Lisa have given me a ton of tips to try out:
-Trim the eyelash down to the length of your eye, most eyelashes are too long
-You can cut your false eyelashes in half, or in multiple pieces if you find it easier to apply it that way
-Apply A LOT of lash glue
-Wait at least 30-45 seconds after applying the lash glue, so that the glue gets extra tacky
-Use tweezers to apply your false lashes and press them into your natural lashes until the glue has dried
-Make sure you are applying the false lashes to your natural eyelashes and not to your skin
6. CLEANING UP MASCARA MISTAKES – Let’s face it, we all end up with mascara all over our face sometimes. I used to try to immediately wipe it off until someone told me that the best thing to do is to wait for it to dry. Once it has dried, you can just sort of flick it off your skin.
7. INVEST IN GOOD MAKEUP BRUSHES – I used to not spend much time picking out makeup brushes. However, once I invested in some good brushes (I said good, not necessarily expensive) it made my makeup look so much better. I think that having a good brush is almost more important than having a good product. ALMOST. Also, making sure that you have a brush that is intended for what you are using it for is key. For example, the Sigma Tapered Highlight brush applies my highlighter AMAZINGLY well. Previously, I had been using a brush that wasn’t meant for a highlighter and it didn’t work as well. Let me know if you’d like to see a blog post on my favorite brushes!
8. CLEAN YOUR MAKEUP BRUSHES REGULARLY – I still remember the day in college when my friend told me that I needed to clean my makeup brushes and being both amazed and disgusted at the amount of product that came out of my brushes once I did (I had NEVER washed my brushes before, ew). I try to clean my brushes AT LEAST once a week – especially my foundation brushes.
9. USE PRODUCTS FOR MULTIPLE PURPOSES – I remember being suprised when I saw someone on Youtube use bronzer and highlighter as eyeshadow. This is a great way to get more use out of products like highlighters that you will never end up using up no matter how hard you try. I’ve seen people use lip products as blush but I am just not a fan of that. I find that lip products feel kind of gross on my skin.
10. HEAT YOUR EYELASH CURLER – Use a blow dryer to heat your eyelash curler before using it. (My friend KK, who gets ready in her car everyday, actually uses her car heater to heat up her eyelash curler!) You can thank her for a lot of the tips in this blog – she is one of my go-to beauty gurus 🙂
11. CHOOSING THE RIGHT FOUNDATION SHADE – This one was super enlightening to me. You should choose your foundation shade based on the color of your neck and body, NOT the color of your face. This seems obvious but I will admit that I never used to do this and my face was always a few shades lighter than the rest of my body, eek!
12. MORE FLATTERING BLUSH APPLICATION – this tip comes from the amazing Wayne Goss. He said that you should place two fingers on the side of your nose – the outer edge of your fingers is where you should START your blush application. I was amazed when I first tried this, it made my cheeks appear much more lifted which is flattering on any face shape. I realized I had been applying my blush way too close to my nose/way roo far down my face and it was not very flattering for my face shape.
13. USE TAPE FOR EYESHADOW LOOKS – This tip comes from my favorite YouTuber, Casey Holmes. Apply scotch tape to the outside of your eye in order to get a clean line when applying your eyeshadow. This is kind of hard to describe so check out her YouTube channel to see how it’s done.
14. PUT VISENE IN YOUR MASCARA – Apply a few drops off Visene to mascara that has dried out. This will extend the use for a little longer!
15. WHITE EYESHADOW AS A BASE – Eyeshadows blend easier on top of other eyeshadows so before you start your eyeshadow look, apply a white or cream color shadow all over your lid and crease. This will make the other colors easier to blend.
16. MIX YOUR FOUNDATIONS – This one is another tip that seems so obvious but took me forever to discover. If you want your foundation to have more coverage, less coverage, be more mattifying, more dewy, etc. – mix it with another foundation! I don’t know why I never thought to do this before. This is a great way to find your perfect foundation – by mixing 2+ together. (For example, I use my super mattifying Hourglass foundation to mix in with other foundations or BB creams that are not matte enough).
17. FIXING BROKEN POWDERS – Use rubbing alcohol to restore your broken powders. I will admit that I tried this and only had limited success. Pour rubbing alcohol in with your broken product and mix it together until it is like a paste. Then flatten it out as best you can and leave it to dry overnight. I tried this on a broken eyeshadow and it is definitely still usable, it just doesn’t look very pretty.
Leave a Reply

