REVIEW: TOM FORD LIPSTICK IN SO VAIN

Ok, let me start by saying this is by far the most expensive lip product I have ever purchased. My friend Lisa, who is a professional makeup artist and has her on Youtube channel – CHECK HER OUT! (@lisajmakeup) loves Tom Ford lipsticks. She said she saw this color in Nordstrom and thought it was one I would like – so I immediately ordered it online ($52). I told myself that if I didn’t love it I would return it.

IMG_7136

PACKAGING: The packaging definitely looks and feels like you just spent $52 on a lipstick (thank goodness). I absolutely love it. It is super sleek and feels very heavy, which to me, feels expensive.

TEXTURE: Honestly, I had no idea what to expect. I was hoping to either love or hate this product. I have to say that I do love it, but with a few reservations. This product was very gritty when I first applied it. If you have ever used the ELF Lip Exfoliator – it feels similar to that, just not AS gritty. This was super strange to me. However, as I have continued to use it – it doesn’t seem to be as gritty, (or I have just gotten used to it). I am not a huge fan of the texture but am hoping it continues to be less noticeable as I use it more.

IMG_7111

COLOR: Lisa was right, this color is SO me, it is a darker”my lips but better” shade, which is my favorite type of lip color to wear. I think it looks really good with my brown hair and olive skin tone. One very unique thing about the color is that there is gold glitter in it. This sounds bad, and I have to admit that when I first applied it I had a “what the $&#*” moment but as I stepped back from the mirror I absolutely loved the effect. I was a little concerned that the color would wear off and I would be left with gold glitter on my lips but I have not experienced that so far.

WEAR TIME: I am really bad about commenting on wear time. I haven’t found ANY lip product that has impressed me with it’s wear time. For me, I try to only apply lip products if I’m not planning on eating or drinking anything anytime soon. Otherwise, I just don’t bother. This product seems to last a good while and it fades nicely. It also doesn’t settle into my fine lines. For that reason, I have been reaching for this product a lot.

IMG_7137

BOTTOM LINE: I am happy that I purchased this lip product – I love the color and it was fun to splurge on a high-end makeup product. The color, with the gold glitter, is very unique in my opinion. The color alone, without the glitter effect, is very dupable. If you don’t have $52 to spend on a lipstick I don’t think this is a MUST have. Other than the high quality packaging, I don’t think there is anything about this product that makes it worthy of being so much more expensive than other lip products I own.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: TOM FORD LIPSTICK IN SO VAIN

Leave a Reply

