BATTLE OF THE BRONZERS!

IMG_7096

Ok, so I know this is way too many bronzer for one person to own but I LOVE bronzer! Plus, I ALWAYS wear a bronzer – even if it is a super minimal makeup day. So, that is how I justified these purchases. I tried to put little <snippets> about each bronzer in case you aren’t interested in reading the whole post.

IMG_5200-2

IMG_7107  IMG_7108

Bobbi Brown Golden Light – $40 for 0.28 oz <most natural> – this is my newest bronzer purchase. The color is a beautiful cool-toned matte brown and is in no way orange. I have fairly tan skin and this doesn’t show up as much as some of the others on my skin – so it would be perfect for the winter months or for more natural bronzer days. I love this color for someone with more fair skin, but the jury is still out as to whether this shade will work for me.

IMG_7121

Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light – $50 <most radiant> – This is my other most recent purchase. This bronzer is interesting. To be 100% honest, I’m not sure that I am going to keep it. It is very glittery in the pan so I was scared.  The glitter doesn’t actually translate to my skin, but it does show up a little orange. That was surprising to me because it doesn’t look the slightest bit orange in the pan. I have to admit, it does make me look very luminous and glow-ey (in a good way). However, it’s the most expensive bronzer of the bunch and definitely not a must have in my opinion.

IMG_7126  IMG_7127

Benefit Hoola – $28 for 0.28 oz <best all around color>– this is my favorite bronzer of life. I have been wearing and repurchasing this bronzer for 15 years. The packaging is adorable but as I get older I wish it had a sleeker package (I see you Bobbi Brown and Nars). It’s hard to beat the color of Hoola – another cool-toned matte brown that is great for contouring or warming up the skin. Also, the brush that comes with Hoola is actually very handy – it is shaped similarly to the much-hyped about Nars Ita brush.

IMG_7105  IMG_7106

Nars Laguna – $39 for 0.28 oz <natural glow> – Another favorite of mine. I was surprised to see how this swatched compared to the other shades – a little glittery and a little bit more of a golden brown. Regardless, it is another one that looks great on the skin and is perfect for contouring or warming up the face. I would say that this is the cooler-toned version of the Hourglass bronzer. (I have two pictured because the larger one was a limited edition package – it actually seems to be a little warmer than the normal Laguna).

IMG_7109  IMG_7110

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil – $30 for 0.35 oz <best packaging and scent> – This one actually looks similar to Bobbi Brown Golden Light but is more pigmented. I absolutely love this bronzer, the packaging is adorable and sleek at the same time (Too Faced is so good about that) and hello, it smells like chocolate! This bronzer is a great color, very pigmented, and long lasting.

IMG_7125

NYC Sunny – $3 for 0.33 oz <best price> – This bronzer is REALLY good for the price. However, I have to say that this one swatched the worst on my arm. I had to really build it up. However, on my face I don’t have that same issue – it actually show up very nicely. It is a little warmer than most of these other bronzers, so it would be better for warming up the face and I would not use it for contouring. The packaging feels super cheap, but that’s because you are paying $3 for a very good bronzer. The sun is a very nice touch!

IMG_7122  IMG_7123

The Balm Bahama Mama – $20 for 0.25 oz <most pigmented> – in my opinion, this is the darkest and most pigmented bronzer that I own. I have to be careful when I apply this and I tend to wear it more in the summer. If you have issues with bronzers not showing up on your skin – you should definitely check this one out! Not to mention, the packaging is absolutely adorable.

IMG_7128  FullSizeRender-43

MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Give Me Sun – $32 for 0.35 oz <best summer time glow> – this bronzer is definitely one of the most, if not the most, warm-toned bronzer that I own. It is stunning in the summer time. I would probably shy away from wearing this in the fall or winter, but if you don’t own it – definitely pick it up next summer!

My recommendations: Honestly, all of these bronzers are great. If you are looking for a nice cool-toned bronzer that would be great for contouring or warming up the face, I would go with Benefit-Hoola or Too Faced-Chocolate Soleil.  If you are looking for a great warm-toned bronzer to brighten up your face in the summer, I would go with the MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Give Me Sun.

I will keep you updated on what I think about my two most recent purchases (Bobbi Brown – Golden Light and Hourglass – Luminous Bronze Light). I have had them for less than a week so my mind is not completely made up.

IMG_7098

Are any of these bronzers your favorite?? Are there any not on my list that I need to check out? Let me know in the comments below!

12 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BRONZERS!

  1. The Sartorial Coquette says:

    i’m impressed by your collection 😉 my favorite by far is nars laguna – so natural! I know that many people love benefit hoola but the packaging is just so bulky… 😦
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    Instagram: the_ch1ara

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

