REVIEW: BENEFIT HELLO FLAWLESS POWDER FOUNDATION

I bought the Benefit Hello Flawless SPF 15 Powder Foundation (in the color “All The World’s My Stage Beige”) at the Sephora VIB Rouge sale ($34 for 0.25 oz). I wanted it after I saw Alexandrea Garza talk about it (she even wore it as her powder on her wedding day).

IMG_6999

I wanted this product for a few reasons/purposes:

  1. I wanted a really lightweight foundation for running errands on the weekend. I usually run errands with no makeup on to give my skin a break but I wanted something that would even out my skin tone and keep me from being super shiny.
  2. I also wanted to use this as a touch-up powder that I can keep in my purse. I thought a powder foundation would be great for touching up my face when I get oily, while also providing some additional coverage.
  3. Lastly, I thought this would be a good setting powder over my foundation since that is how Alexandrea Garza recommended wearing it.

When this first arrived, I applied it as a setting powder over my Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation using the sponge that came with it. HUGE MISTAKE. This provided too much coverage on my already full coverage foundation and I ended up looking super cakey. Plus, I love my Laura Mercier Translucent Powder and Givenchy Mat Powder so much that it just didn’t compare. At this point I already know that I won’t be using this product as a powder over my foundation because I love the products I already own for that purpose.

Today, I used the sponge and applied this directly on my face about an hour after I had woken up. My husband and I are about to run a few errands before his football games start and I wanted to test this out. WOW. I started by applying it to half my face only and I was so impressed. It immediately soaked up the oil that was on my skin and completely evened out my skin tone. It looks SO natural, it is very hard to tell I am even wearing any makeup. YAY! This is exactly what I hoped for. My skin still feels very matte and it doesn’t feel like I have any makeup on at all. I am curious to try it next time with a primer underneath and to try different brushes to apply it. I did love the way the sponge applied it though.

With how well this soaked up my oil today, I definitely think this will be great to keep in my purse and use to touch up. I work in downtown Austin so sometimes my husband or friends will meet me after work to head to a bar or restaurant. Usually after a long work day I need something to soak up my oil PLUS more coverage. I think this will be absolutely perfect. Plus, the packaging is so cute. Oh, and I forgot to mention, if you lift up the compact it comes with a sponge and a brush which is super convenient for on the go application.

The Bottom Line: If you are looking for a very natural powder foundation to even out your skin tone and keep you matte – YOU NEED THIS! If you are looking for a setting powder to apply over your foundation – I would recommend trying Laura Mercier Translucent Powder first.

Have you tried this product? Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

