MY FAVORITE MAKEUP PRODUCTS (PART 1)

Welcome to my blog!! I decided to begin my blog with a post about my holy grail makeup products. Some of these are new discoveries, some of these are items I have been using for years and years. Please leave me comments with your favorite makeup products. I hope you enjoy!

IMG_6404

IMG_6403

PRIMER: Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer ($52 for 1 oz) – ok let’s be real – this product is pricey. As a result, I have purchased and tried MANY other primers, desperately hoping to find something I like as much as this. So far, there haven’t been any that compare. This primer is so silky and it makes my skin so smooth and “ready” for makeup. When I put my foundation on it applies like a dream! The consistency of this primer is very thin and it is white when it comes out of the container. To be honest, it feels a little oily and slick on my skin once first applied so I was really nervous about using this product because I have very oily skin. I was surprised that this primer is one of the best primers I have tried for keeping my skin matte all day.

IMG_6405

FOUNDATION: Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup ($38 for 1 oz) – this foundation is one of the first makeup products I ever purchased. Sometimes I get makeup ADD and buy other foundations to try out but I ALWAYS come back to this foundation. I have very oily skin and I like my foundation to be full coverage with a matte or satin finish. This foundation is very full coverage and has a matte finish. It is incredibly long wearing and I am always pleased at how it looks on my face at the end of the day. I’ve heard some people say they think this foundation is cakey, but I think it blends out very nicely. If I ever go overboard, I spray some MAC Fix Plus on my face (especially around my nose, where my foundations tend to build up) and it helps all of my foundations not look so cakey. I plan on always having at least one of these in my collection! Tip: Since this foundation does not come with a pump (BOO!), you can buy the MAC Foundation Pump for $10 and it fits perfectly once you trim the end a little.

IMG_6407

DRUGSTORE FOUNDATION: L’oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation ($12.99 for 1 oz) – I recently discovered this product and could not believe how good it was. In the past, I have been somewhat of a makeup snob and have stayed away from drugstore makeup. Other than the Estee Lauder Double Wear, I would choose this foundation over all of my other high-end foundations – it is truly amazing. The finish is demi-matte, which to me just means that it is a matte finish that isn’t super powdery or cakey. This foundation is super long wearing and keeps my skin super matte. This is the foundation that I wear everyday to work so that I don’t have to worry about being an oily mess at the end of a long day.

IMG_6408

CONCEALER: Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer ($28 for 0.16 oz) – Had you asked me my favorite concealer a few months ago I would have sworn by the MAC Pro Longwear Concealer. However, since I purchased this concealer I haven’t ONCE reached for my MAC concealer. This product is super light-weight feeling but with full coverage (say what???). I know, it’s hard to explain but you are just going to have to trust me on this one. It is so creamy and easy to blend out. I also love the doe foot applicator. I have sworn to myself that I will no longer purchase concealers that don’t have this type of applicator (I’m looking at you MAC). I really like the demi-matte finish, and this is the concealer I wear everyday to work because it does not crease and it looks very natural while covering everything I need covered.

IMG_6409

POWDER: Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder ($37 for 1 oz) – I used to absolutely HATE loose powders. I didn’t understand why anyone would choose a loose powder over a pressed powder. They are so freaking messy and I always had such a hard time controlling the amount of product I was using. However, I recently saw someone on YouTube say that she used a damp beauty blender to apply loose powder to set her concealer. I tried this method to set my concealer as well as my T-zone and I am now hooked. This product keeps my concealer from creasing and makes my skin have a flawless, airbrushed finish – while also making my foundation last longer throughout the day.

IMG_6412 IMG_6415

BRONZER: Benefit Cosmetics Hoola Matte Bronzer ($28 for .28 oz) – This product has sentimental value for me. My two best friends (Hi Lauren and Bianca!) and I were OBSESSED with this bronzer in high school. We would literally go into the bathroom between EVERY class and reapply. At the time, we hadn’t heard of contouring or “warming up the face” so we basically applied this bronzer all over our face multiple times a day. Yes, we were those girls. To this day, i haven’t found a bronzer that I like better. I love the color (very natural and not orange at all) as well as the fact that it is matte. As a result, I am able to use this product for both contouring or just warming up my face. The packaging is cute but I do wish it came in something more sleek and compact.

FullSizeRender-12  FullSizeRender-13

BLUSH: MAC Cosmetics Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul ($27 for .12 oz) – Ok, blushes are my absolutele favorite makeup product to buy and wear. This was impossible for me to narrow down, so I decided to pick a blush that I recently discovered that is universally flattering. I can’t imagine anyone NOT loving this blush (even those of y’all that do not like to wear blush). MAC describes this shade as “mid tone beige with gold pearl”. As someone who loves very pink and red blushes – this shade doesn’t sound that appealing to me. When I saw the color and swatched it on my hand I was super underwhelmed. However, when I applied this to my face – it was magic. It is not super pigmented so I definitely had to build up the coverage, but the end result is a gorgeous, natural-looking, flushed face. It is everything a blush should be – it brightened up my face and made me look more alive, without looking like a clown.

Thank you for reading my first ever blog post! I would love to hear any feedback that you have or any recommendations for future blog posts. Stay tuned for Part 2 of My Favorite Makeup Products.

3 thoughts on “MY FAVORITE MAKEUP PRODUCTS (PART 1)

  1. KK says:

    Great first post!!!!

    Ok, so today my Mac Pro long wear shattered so I’m taking your advice and getting the UD. I also am in love with setting my makeup with a damp bb and a translucent powder. The LM powder is on my list. Great job on your first post, I’m excited for you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

